Court Verdicts Issued for Twelve Azeri Activists

May 21, 2011

Younes Soleimani, Mahmoud Fazli, Naeim Ahmadi, Aidin Khajei, Shahram Radmehr, Yashar Karimi, and Hamideh Farajzadeh have each been sentenced to 6 months in prison. Alireza Abdollahi, Behboud Gholizadeh and Akbar Azad have also been sentenced to 6 months of suspended imprisonment for 5 years.

According to the Human Rights House of Iran, Hassan Rahimi has been acquitted after 4 months of solitary confinement.

The aforementioned individuals were tried for membership in a party by the name of “Gamouh” and acting against national security. They spent 8 months in prison, 5 months of which was in solitary confinement.  Yourosh Mehrali Biglou, Latif Hosseini and Zahra Farajzadeh, several other Azeri political activists, will be tried in the upcoming days.



Latest news
Related news