Saturday, October 16, 2021

European list IDs 80+ Iran militia, police for possible EU human rights sanctions

February 26, 2011

European diplomats have prepared a list of over 80 Iranian militia and police unit commanders, prison guards, prosecutors, judges and ministry bureaucrats that will be taken up for discussion for possible European Union sanctions for alleged torture, murder and other human rights violations against Iranian citizens.

POLITICO was provided a list of the Iranian individuals that the EU will discuss possibly targeting for sanctions to include asset freezes and travel bans. EU foreign ministers will discuss the list at a “brainstorming session” in March, a European diplomat said Friday.

Notable is that the list includes not only such senior Iranian security and ministry officials as the interior and intelligence ministers and the Iranian Revolutionary Guards Corps general commander, but that it names quite specific prison guards, militia members, police unit figures, revolutionary court judges,  prosecutors and ministry bureaucrats identified by governments and NGOs as responsible for torture, murder, and gross human rights abuses against Iranian civilians and political dissidents in the brutal crackdown unleashed in the wake of Iran’s disputed June 2009 presidential elections.

Among the over 80 Iranian individuals on the list are: Ansar-e Hezbollah chief Hossein Allahkaram, and several Basij militia commanders including:  Mohammad Reza Naqdi, the commander of the Basij and Hossein Taeb the former commander of the Basij; Ali Fazli, the deputy commander of the Basij and former head of the Seyyed al-Shodada Corps of Tehran Province, Abbas Kargar Javid, a Basij militiaman and the alleged murderer of Neda Agha-Soltan on June 20, 2009.

IRGC figures on the list include: the head of the IRGC’s Seyyed al-Shodada Corps of Tehran Province Hossein Motlagh; the head of the IRGC’s Rassoulollah Corps in charge of Greater Tehran Hossein Hamedani, the head of the IRGC’s Sarollah Corps in Tehran Mohammad Hejazi; and IRGC General and deputy head of the Medical Unit of Sarollah base Ali Khalili.

Several prison officials from the Rajai Shahr prison in Karaj are named including: Hassan Akharian, the head of Ward 1, as well as several men identified as “keepers” of Ward 1 of the same prison including Mr. Mirzaghayi, Mr. Zeynali, Mr. Youssefi, and Mr. Morradi.

Information and Communications ministry officials on the list include: Reza Taghipour, the Minister of Information and Communications, Abdolmajid Riyazi, the deputy minister. Also on the list: Mehrdad Omidi, the head of the Computer Crimes Unit of the Iranian Police, as well as Behrouz Kamalian, the head of the IRGC-related “Ashiyaneh” cyber-group.

Names on the list from the Iran interior, intelligence and justice ministries and Iran and Tehran Judiciary: Iranian Minister of Justice Morteza Bakhtiari, the Iranian Interior Minister Mostafa Mohammad Najjar, deputy Interior minister for political affairs Seyyed Solat Mortazavi, the Interior Ministry’s political director Mahmoud Abbaszadeh Meshkini, and the Minister of Welfare and Social Security Sadeq Mahsouli,  the Minister of Science, Research and Technology and former head of Election headquarters during the disputed June 2009 Iran presidential elections Kamran Daneshjou, Sadeq Larijani, the head of the Iranian Judiciary, and his first deputy Ebrahim Raissi, Saeed Mortazavi, the former prosecutor-general of Tehran and current head of Iran’s anti-smuggling task force, two former prosecutor-generals of Iran and former Intelligence ministers: Gholam-Hossein Mohseni-Ejei and Ghorbanali Dorri-Nafajabadi, current prosecutor general of Tehran Abbas Jafari-Dolatabadi, and former deputy prosecutor general of Tehran for prison affairs Mahmoud Salarkia. Several Tehran Revolutionary Court judges are also identified on the list.

The full list is here:


Latest news
Related news