Evin prisoners sent to solitary over complaints

Ten Iranian political prisoners from ward 350 of Evin Prison have been transferred to solitary confinement.

The Kaleme website reports that Saeed Madani, Abdollah Momeni, Khosro Delirsani, Abolfazl Abedini, Siamak Ghaderi, Mohammd Hassan Yousefpour, Saeed Abedini, Kamran Ayazi, Mohammd Ebrahimi and Pourya Ebrahimi were transferred to solitary on Sunday April 28.

The reason for the transfer, according to Kaleme, is the prisoners’ refusal to dismiss Saeed Madani as their representative.

Prison authorities had reportedly demanded that the prisoners assign a different representative, after Madani filed complaints regarding “the inappropriate treatment of prisoners and the situation in the prison store and the mishandling of accounts by its managers.” The report also indicates that Madani had called for the dismissal of an official who has repeatedly insulted prisoners’ family members during visitation hours.

The 10 prisoners are currently in solitary and deprived of any visiting rights. They have let it be known that if their current treatment persists, they will go on a hunger strike.

Source: Radiozamaneh

Latest news
Related news